New World

St Monica's Cathedral

Checking sale status

“New World” will be an exciting celebration of classical music. Working under the baton of International Maestro Mark Eager ( from the UK) the concert will feature the talents of the many musicians who have come from across Australia for the 7th successive year to form the Cairns Winter Orchestra.

“New World” will feature three works that are well known and loved by both players and audience alike.  The concert will open with the dramatic “Night on a Bare Mountain” by Mussorgsky.  This will be followed by the ever-popular Piano Concerto No 1 by Tchaikovsky which will introduce Cairns audiences to our soloist, the young Australian virtuoso, Maxwell Foster.

Dvorak’s Symphony No 9, popularly known as the “New World Symphony” will bring this celebration of classical music to a majestic and fitting conclusion.

Mark Eager - our conductor - is the Principal Conductor and Artistic Director of the Welsh Sinfonia. Formerly a professional trombonist he now conducts orchestras worldwide.

Maxwell Foster has made concerto appearances as a pianist soloist with all of the major Australian Symphony Orchestras. He has performed in many recitals including in Shanghai and in the UK.

Generally there is no right to a refund or exchange except as required by law, or as provided in the Live Performance Australia Ticketing Code of Practice. Please refer to Ticketlink Terms and Conditions on this website.

Price Guide
Thu 12 Jul
Venue Opens
Doors open
Show time
20 min
G - General
Unreserved Fully Seated
No Bar
Companion Card
Ticket collection
From the Ticketlink office during business hours or from the venue 30 min prior on the performance date
Seating Plan
Seating Plan

Loading... - Loading Pricing Guide
Share on